Karn, the Great Creator
Name
Karn, the Great Creator
Mana Cost
{4} (4)
Type
Legendary Planeswalker — Karn
Rules Text
Activated abilities of artifacts your opponents control can't be activated.
[+1]: Until your next turn, up to one target noncreature artifact becomes an artifact creature with power and toughness each equal to its converted mana cost.
[−2]: You may choose an artifact card you own from outside the game or in exile, reveal that card, and put it into your hand.
Loyalty
5
Color
Colorless
Card Ratings
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Commander
Rarity
Rare
Expansion Set
War of the Spark
Multiverse Id
460928
Card Number
1
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
War of the Spark   $8.50

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2019-05-03
Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text, such as equip. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected by Karn.
2019-05-03
Karn’s first ability affects only artifacts on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones can still be activated.
2019-05-03
A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {T} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of their most recent turn. It doesn’t matter how long the permanent has been a creature.
2019-05-03
If a permanent has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
2019-05-03
Karn’s last ability can’t get a face-down card in exile, even if you know it’s an artifact card.
2019-05-03
In a casual game, a card you choose from outside the game comes from your personal collection. In a tournament event, a card you choose from outside the game must come from your sideboard. You may look at your sideboard at any time.