Skewer the Critics
Name
Skewer the Critics
Mana Cost
{2}{r} (3)
Type
Sorcery
Rules Text
Spectacle {r} (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)
Skewer the Critics deals 3 damage to any target.
Color
red
Card Ratings
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Commander
Rarity
Common
Expansion Set
Ravnica Allegiance
Multiverse Id
457259
Mark
Rakdos
Card Number
115
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
Ravnica Allegiance   $0.75

Current Legal Formats

Commander

Appears in Commander decks: 0.0%
When included, average number included in deck: 0.00

Rulings

2019-01-25
Damage dealt to a player causes that player to lose that much life.
2019-01-25
Spectacle doesn’t change when you can cast the card. For example, you can’t cast a sorcery with spectacle during an opponent’s turn unless another effect allows you to do so, even if that player has lost life this turn.
2019-01-25
To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying (such as a spectacle cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
2019-01-25
A card’s spectacle cost is the same no matter how much life your opponents lost or how many opponents lost life.
2019-01-25
In a multiplayer game, if an opponent loses life and later that turn leaves the game, you can cast a spell for its spectacle cost. (If a player leaves the game during their turn, that turn continues without an active player.)