Engineered Explosives
Name
Engineered Explosives
Mana Cost
{x} (0)
Type
Artifact
Rules Text
Sunburst (This enters the battlefield with a charge counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it.)
{2}, Sacrifice Engineered Explosives: Destroy each nonland permanent with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Engineered Explosives.
Color
Colorless
Card Ratings
Modern
Legacy
Commander
Rarity
Mythic Rare
Expansion Set
Ultimate Box Topper
Multiverse Id
457132
Card Number
U28
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
Ultimate Box Topper   $58.50

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2004-12-01
If Engineered Explosives had no charge counters on it when you sacrificed it, it won’t destroy an animated land, because that permanent is a land in addition to being a creature.
2018-12-07
You can choose any value for X as you cast Engineered Explosives. The value chosen for X doesn’t directly affect the number of charge counters Engineered Explosives enters the battlefield with, but it does let you pay more mana and thus spend more colors of mana to cast it.
2018-12-07
Colorless mana won’t give Engineered Explosives another charge counter. Colorless is not a color.
2018-12-07
A token has a converted mana cost of 0 unless it is copying something else.