Vengevine
Name
Vengevine
Mana Cost
{2}{g}{g} (4)
Type
Creature — Elemental
Rules Text
Haste
Whenever you cast a spell, if it's the second creature spell you cast this turn, you may return Vengevine from your graveyard to the battlefield.
Power
4
Toughness
3
Color
green
Card Ratings
Modern
Legacy
Commander
Rarity
Mythic Rare
Expansion Set
Ultimate Box Topper
Multiverse Id
457124
Card Number
U20
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
Ultimate Box Topper   $51.50

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2018-12-07
If you cast your second creature spell in a turn and Vengevine is in your graveyard, Vengevine’s second ability triggers and goes on the stack on top of that spell. The ability will resolve, allowing you to return Vengevine to the battlefield before the creature spell resolves. The ability resolves even if that creature spell is countered.
2018-12-07
Vengevine’s triggered ability works only if Vengevine is already in your graveyard as you finish casting your second creature spell in a turn and if it remains there until the ability resolves.
2018-12-07
Vengevine’s triggered ability checks the spells you cast over the course of the entire turn, not just the ones you cast while Vengevine is in your graveyard. For example, if you cast a creature spell, then Vengevine is put into your graveyard, then you cast another creature spell, Vengevine’s ability triggers.
2018-12-07
Vengevine’s ability triggers only for the second creature spell you cast in a turn. It won’t trigger for the third, fourth, or so on. It also doesn’t matter how many noncreature spells you cast in a turn; the ability counts only the creature spells.