Through the Breach
Name
Through the Breach
Mana Cost
{4}{r} (5)
Type
Instant — Arcane
Rules Text
You may put a creature card from your hand onto the battlefield. That creature gains haste. Sacrifice that creature at the beginning of the next end step.
Splice onto Arcane {2}{r}{r} (As you cast an Arcane spell, you may reveal this card from your hand and pay its splice cost. If you do, add this card's effects to that spell.)
Color
red
Formats
Card Ratings
Rarity
Mythic Rare
Expansion Set
Ultimate Box Topper
Multiverse Id
457119
Card Number
U15
All Versions

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2007-05-01
Putting the card onto the battlefield is optional. When the ability resolves, you can choose not to.
2013-06-07
You reveal all cards you intend to splice at the same time. Each individual card can be spliced only once onto any one spell.
2013-06-07
A card with a splice ability can’t be spliced onto itself because the spell is on the stack (and not in your hand) when you reveal the cards you want to splice onto it.
2013-06-07
You choose all targets for the spell after revealing cards you want to splice, including any targets required by the text of any of those cards. You may choose a different target for each instance of the word “target” on the resulting spell.
2013-06-07
If all of the spell’s targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen.