Desperate Ritual
Name
Desperate Ritual
Mana Cost
{1}{r} (2)
Type
Instant — Arcane
Rules Text
Add {r}{r}{r}.
Splice onto Arcane {1}{r} (As you cast an Arcane spell, you may reveal this card from your hand and pay its splice cost. If you do, add this card's effects to that spell.)
Color
red
Card Ratings
Modern
Legacy
Commander
Rarity
Uncommon
Expansion Set
Ultimate Masters
Multiverse Id
456723
Card Number
127
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
Ultimate Masters   $1.00

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2013-06-07
You reveal all cards you intend to splice at the same time. Each individual card can be spliced only once onto any one spell.
2013-06-07
A card with a splice ability can’t be spliced onto itself because the spell is on the stack (and not in your hand) when you reveal the cards you want to splice onto it.
2013-06-07
You choose all targets for the spell after revealing cards you want to splice, including any targets required by the text of any of those cards. You may choose a different target for each instance of the word “target” on the resulting spell.
2013-06-07
If all of the spell’s targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen.
2013-06-07
Desperate Ritual isn’t a mana ability. When cast, it (or the spell it’s spliced onto) goes on the stack like any spell and can be responded to.