Kraul Harpooner
Name
Kraul Harpooner
Mana Cost
{1}{g} (2)
Type
Creature — Insect Warrior
Rules Text
Reach
Undergrowth — When Kraul Harpooner enters the battlefield, choose up to one target creature with flying you don't control. Kraul Harpooner gets +X/+0 until end of turn, where X is the number of creature cards in your graveyard, then you may have Kraul Harpooner fight that creature.
Power
3
Toughness
2
Color
green
Formats
Card Ratings
Rarity
Uncommon
Expansion Set
Guilds of Ravnica
Multiverse Id
452886
Mark
Golgari
Card Number
136
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
Guilds of Ravnica   $0.25

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2018-10-05
The value of X is determined only as the undergrowth ability resolves. If the number of creature cards in your graveyard changes later in the turn, Kraul Harpooner is unaffected.
2018-10-05
You choose the target of the triggered ability (or that it has no target) as it goes on the stack, but you choose whether the creatures fight as that ability resolves.
2018-10-05
If you choose a target and the target creature is an illegal target when Kraul Harpooner’s ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn’t resolve and Kraul Harpooner doesn’t get +X/+0. If the target creature is legal but Kraul Harpooner is no longer on the battlefield, the target creature won’t deal or be dealt damage.
2018-10-05
If you don’t choose a target creature, Kraul Harpooner simply gets +X/+0 until end of turn.
2018-10-05
Creature cards with other types, such as artifact creature cards, count for undergrowth abilities.
2018-10-05
Because tokens aren’t cards, they never count for undergrowth abilities.