Enter the Unknown
Name
Enter the Unknown
Mana Cost
{g} (1)
Type
Sorcery
Rules Text
Target creature you control explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on the creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
You may play an additional land this turn.
Color
green
Formats
Card Ratings
Rarity
Uncommon
Expansion Set
Rivals of Ixalan
Multiverse Id
439785
Card Number
128
All Versions

Current Legal Formats

Rulings

2018-01-19
Enter the Unknown’s effect allows you to play an additional land during your main phase. Doing so follows the normal timing rules for playing lands.
2018-01-19
The effects of multiples of Enter the Unknown in the same turn are cumulative. They’re also cumulative with other effects that let you play additional lands, such as the one from Wayward Swordtooth.
2018-01-19
If you somehow manage to cast Enter the Unknown when it’s not your turn, the target creature explores when it resolves, but you won’t be able to play a land that turn.
2018-01-19
If the target creature is an illegal target by the time Enter the Unknown tries to resolve, the spell doesn’t resolve. It won’t explore, and you won’t be able to play an additional land.
2018-01-19
Once an ability that causes a creature to explore begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it’s done. Notably, opponents can’t try to remove the exploring creature after you reveal a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
2018-01-19
If no card is revealed, most likely because that player’s library is empty, the exploring creature receives a +1/+1 counter.