Smoldering Marsh
Name
Smoldering Marsh
Mana Cost
(0)
Type
Land — Swamp Mountain
Rules Text
({t}: Add {b} or {r}.)
Smoldering Marsh enters the battlefield tapped unless you control two or more basic lands.
Color
Colorless
Formats
Card Ratings
Rarity
Mythic Rare
Expansion Set
Zendikar Expeditions
Multiverse Id
405108
Card Number
3
All Versions

Current Legal Formats

Cards Associated with Smoldering Marsh

Battle Lands (Cycle)

Dual lands with basic land types that enter untapped if you control two or more basic lands.

Rulings

2015-08-25
Even though these lands have basic land types, they are not basic lands because “basic” doesn’t appear on their type line. Notably, controlling two or more of them won’t allow others to enter the battlefield untapped.
2015-08-25
However, because these cards have basic land types, effects that specify a basic land type without also specifying that the land be basic can affect them. For example, a spell or ability that reads “Destroy target Forest” can target Canopy Vista, while one that reads “Destroy target basic Forest” cannot.
2015-08-25
If one of these lands enters the battlefield at the same time as any number of basic lands, those other lands are not counted when determining if this land enters the battlefield tapped or untapped.