Ashling the Pilgrim
Name
Ashling the Pilgrim
Mana Cost
{1}{r} (2)
Type
Legendary Creature — Elemental Shaman
Rules Text
{1}{r}: Put a +1/+1 counter on Ashling the Pilgrim. If this is the third time this ability has resolved this turn, remove all +1/+1 counters from Ashling the Pilgrim, and it deals that much damage to each creature and each player.
Power
1
Toughness
1
Color
red
Card Ratings
Modern
Commander
Legacy
Rarity
Rare
Expansion Set
Lorwyn
Multiverse Id
141822
Card Number
149
All Versions
Prices
recent pricing
Lorwyn   $2.00

Current Legal Formats

Modern

Appears in Modern decks: %
When included, average number included in deck: 0.00

Legacy

Appears in Legacy decks: %
When included, average number included in deck: 0.00

Rulings

2007-10-01
“That much damage” refers to the number of +1/+1 counters removed from Ashling the Pilgrim. Since the counters are removed, it’s likely that the damage will kill Ashling.
2007-10-01
Counts resolutions, not activations. Any such abilities that are still on the stack won’t count toward the total.
2007-10-01
When the ability resolves, it counts the number of times that same ability from that this creature has already resolved that turn. It doesn’t matter who controlled the creature or the previous abilities when they resolved. A copy of this ability (created by Rings of Brighthearth, for example) will count toward the total. Abilities from other creatures with the same name don’t count towards the total. Neither does an ability that’s been countered.
2007-10-01
You get the bonus only the third time the ability resolves. You won’t get the bonus the fourth, fifth, sixth, or any subsequent times.